so you have some over-ripe bananas….

My mother recently tasked me with the job of using seven (I repeat – seven!) over-ripe bananas. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s a lot of bananas, even for a monkey. Nonetheless, I began the task of trying to find recipes to use up the bananas. I have a tried-and-true recipe for banana chocolate chip muffins, but I decided it was time to mix it up. Another thing that might have contributed to wanting to try a new recipe was the fact that I had less than a cup of flour left. Sweet…

The first recipe I found was for Mini Chocolate Peanut Butter & Banana muffins. This one looked quite promising, especially because one regular-size muffin is only 120ish calories. I wasn’t exactly sure how they would turn out considering I’ve never made a batter by blending all of the ingredients. But, I was pleasantly surprised! While the muffins were dense and moist (maybe that’s why the original recipe called for the muffins to be mini…Hmmm, well “Go big, or go home,” right?), they had a great chocolate flavor, with the banana and peanut butter adding nice undertones. I would say that this muffin is probably too rich for a breakfast muffin, but if you have a sweet tooth, then it’s perfect for you.

Image

Bananas used: 2

Bananas remaining: 5

For the next recipe, I knew I wanted to do a banana bread, but with the flour impairment, I knew I would have to get a little creative with the recipes. What’s a good substitute for flour? Well, as I found in the first recipe, oats, but cornmeal is also a great option. So for my second banana adventure, I found a Maple Banana Cornbread. I like maple syrup. I like bananas (not so sure how I’m feeling about them after this little debacle though…) and I’m always up for a good cornbread, so why not, lets go for it. This cornbread was also very good, although not as popular with the family. My brother (who is a stick figure) naturally inhaled both and when asked about the goods, responded with a generic “They’re good.” Real helpful Bud. But my Dad was much more helpful. Not only did he say that he preferred the muffins to the bread, but he also provided a great suggestion. Cream-cheese frosting. My take: banana-infused cream-cheese frosting. Bam. Deliciousness.

Next time I make this banana bread, you can bet that a banana-infused cream-cheese frosting will be lathered generously on top.

Image

Bananas used: 2

Bananas remaining: 3

Despite my noble attempts (at least it felt like they were noble), I still have 3 bananas to take care of. What do you think: should I stick to my tried-and-true chocolate chip banana muffins recipe or keep searching for something new? Let me know what you think and if you have any successful methods for eliminating bananas, I’m all ears!

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “so you have some over-ripe bananas….

  1. Since you’re almost out of flour, maybe you want to make a banana, peanut butter, chocolate smoothie of some sort as a way to stay cool this summer evening.

Leave a Reply

